Publishing Kit

Noun: a set of skills or tools used to create a publication

[Writing]

I’m an editor, first and foremost, but I’ve been a writer for much longer.  I’ve been making up stories for nearly 15 years, at this point, and writing them down for about 10 of those years.

Writing stories let me follow through on my imaginings; let me escape the reality of the world and make my own.  I’ve loved reading authors’ creations, and I emulated them to chase the dream of being an author.

Well, that dream isn’t all that close anymore–it’s still up in the clouds–but I’m working toward the goal of working directly with authors.  As an editor, my job will be to assist authors in making their creation, their pride and joy, the best that it can possibly be. Editing is my passion; writing is my hobby.  I have physical proof of that.

Do you remember back in December when I went through my memory box?  I happened upon some creative memories along with childhood memories.

Notebooks, Files, and Folders Galore

Notebooks, Files, and Folders Galore

All of this represents 50 percent of my creative writing, and only the writing pieces that were handwritten in notebooks, journals, and also in my school notebooks (I usually rip those out and just save the relevant pages; I’ve lost several pieces and snippets by recycling those notebooks).  The remaining 50 percent resides in six flashdrives.

The Stack

The Stack

Here’s a closeup of some of the “treasures” I discovered.  I filled a box with my old creative writing notebooks and folders full of looseleaf.

I haven’t written nearly as much as I’ve wanted to in college.  It’s hard to find the time to sit down and just bull my way through a few thousand words.  I’ve still managed to fill a few notebooks with snippets and ideas.  I also took a creative fiction writing course this last semester.

Maybe I’ll showcase some of my short stories here on this blog.  But I’ll continue writing, because without a passion for writing and for words, I’d never have become who I am today.  I’d never have become an editor.

One comment on “[Writing]

  1. Kaitlyn Baucom
    February 2, 2014

    Ah writing, the sublime struggle and love affair. Found this gem today–”Writing is like prostitution. First you do it for love, and then for a few close friends, and then for money.” -Molière

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers

